Already thinking fo gardening in January!

Amaryllis belladonna flowers. Photographed in ...

Image via Wikipedia

Oh my, it has been a while since I wrote.  I am sorry to those who occasionally come and check this blog.  I will be updating more often as the sun is starting to rise slowly back up into the sky.  Which you know what that means….. time to seriously think about gardening again!

I did do some bulbs for the Christmas holiday around my office.  Amaryllis bulbs turned out wonderful and today I just put the stem and fanning leaves back to dry the bulb and using it for next year.  Other than the bulbs, Hubby and I didn’t celebrate Christmas, nor New Years as the house was finally closed on and we both got busy remodeling and moving in.  We are 40% moved in and it looks like we will be selling the cabin after all.

As for the new growing season, I won’t be able to do a whole lot.  A very small garden to start the new house off right and I am still deciding on what to plant as I have quite a bit of sun with this house and where I may put a new green house.  Broccoli and Cauliflower for sure and I have already started… green peppers!  I will be starting jalapenos and tom’s very shortly, probably within a week.  But I am not sure what else to grow. 

Anyone have some good ideas?

4 responses to “Already thinking fo gardening in January!

  1. Margot Tenenchop

    How do peppers grow up there? I’d love to have some jalapenos or hot red peppers growing! When do you start them inside? Do you use a light?

  2. Ozarkhomesteader

    I can see you growing lots of cool-weather (here) root crops through the spring and summer, like beets, carrots, and radishes. Try a pretty mix of salad greens. Go for a little cabbage. Can you grow any squashes? Summer squashes have really short growing seasons. How about pea pods?

  3. Where did you get your starts for peppers?

    Also, did you build your green house or buy a pre-built one?

    I’m thinking of gardening already too!

  4. Where are you at girlfriend? You haven’t been on here for ages and I thought you might be, with the weather changing. Hope you’re well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

